You are here

0800618424h.jpg

Biblical Faith: An Evolutionary Perspective

Author: 
Gerd Theissen (Author)
Request a Review, Exam, or Desk copy.

Request a Review copy

Please select a version:

Digital

Digital copies are fulfulled via Edelweiss, an external trusted partner.

×

Request an Exam copy

Please select a version:

Digital

Digital copies are fulfulled via Edelweiss, an external trusted partner.

×

Request an Desk copy

Please select a version:

Digital

Digital copies are fulfulled via Edelweiss, an external trusted partner.

×

Request an Exam/Desk copy

This title is not available as a gratis copy.
To discuss your use of this title for a particular course please e-mail the Textbook Adoption Consultant for review.
Click here to email

×

Description

In the tradition of Karl Rahner and Teilhard de Chardin, this book from renowned New Testament scholar Gerd Theissen daringly probes the innermost sanctuaries of the biblical tradition through the lens of evolutionary theory. Without associating evolution with a naïve optimism about progress, Theissen shows how a thorough examination of the "cultural evolution" of the Christian faith can yield glimmers of a possible goal of history: "complete adaptation to the reality of God."

ISBN: 
9780800618421
Price: 
$18.00
Release date: 
March 1, 2007
Pages: 
210
Width: 
5.50
Height: 
8.50

Endorsements

"Theissen has written a most stimulating book which allows us to see old things in a new, unexpected, and different light."
– Hans Schwarz, University of Regensburg

"Anyone working in process theology or in science and religion needs this book as a thorough and challenging alternative to other evolutionary interpretations. It is a rich and compact jungle of ideas that is carefully mapped and clearly marked...."
– Michael Barnes, University of Dayton

"This book is so fresh and so fundamentally sound in essaying a new approach both to biblical studies and to theology that it deserves as wide a reading and as full a discussion as possible."
– Charley D. Hardwick, The Christian Century