You are here

Good Grief: A Companion for Every Loss


The classic that has uplifted millions through times of loss—now with companion volumes for additional guidance and support

For more than fifty years, Good Grief has helped millions of readers find comfort and rediscover hope after loss. Good Grief identifies ten stages of grief--shock, emotion, depression, physical distress, panic, guilt, anger, resistance, hope, and acceptance--but, recognizing that grief is complex and deeply personal, defines no "right" way to grieve. Whether mourning the death of a loved one, the end of a marriage, the loss of a job, or other difficult life changes, Good Grief is a proven steady companion in times of loss.

Alongside Good Grief, we now offer two additional resources, both perfect for gifts and individual or group use: The Good Grief Devotional and The Good Grief Journal.

Also available is Good Grief: The Complete Set. This three-book collection offers Good Grief, a foundation for understanding grief; The Good Grief Devotional, a collection of valuable insights for those who grieve; and The Good Grief Journal, a pathway for expressing, exploring, and growing from a significant loss.


The Good Grief Journal: A Journey toward Healing
Release date: February 1, 2019

Every loss “deserves a fitting grief,” Jill Alexander Essbaum assures journalers in The Good Grief Journal, a path toward healing for those who grieve.

Each ...